Vegetable Stock

29 Mar

Making your own vegetable stock is easy peasy and very thrifty!

I always recycle my vegetable scraps anyway (great for compost) but recently discovered an even thriftier use – boiling up a huge pot of lovely vegetable stock. I was dubious at first as I adore my Kallo stock cubes. However I was very pleased with the results and the flavour far surpassed my cubes!

I tend to save all my scraps in a bag in the freezer, then when it is full I boil it all up with some herbs. You can keep scraps of anything, just make sure to wash it well before freezing. The only scrap I don’t bother saving is potato peelings as they don’t add much flavour. Things that may normally be thrown can add great flavour, try the stalks of fresh herbs, the leaves and middle piece of celery and the outer leaves of cauliflower.

There are no set in stone rules for this recipe, which means you can mix it up and do a slightly different broth every time! I always do try to start off with frying off onions, carrots, and celery in a little olive oil. These three are known collectively as mirepoix, a classic part of french cuisine. They are all aromatic vegetables and provide a great base for any vegetable stock. Once they have had a few minutes I throw in the water, herbs and remaining vegetable scraps.

So anyway here is the recipe, but remember, experiment with different veg peels and herbs until you find your favourite!

  • 1 onion chopped
  • 2 sticks of celery chopped
  • 2 carrots chopped
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 tsp of herbs ( I like oregano, thyme and rosemary but pick any you like!)
  • 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tsp marmite  (if not using just add one more tsp of salt)
  • 8 cups/2 litres boiling water
  • One freezer bag/5 cups of vegetable scraps/peels

1. Heat the oil in a large heavy bottomed pan. Fry the onion, celery and carrots for a few minutes until softened and aromatic.

2. Add salt, herbs, bay leaves, garlic and marmite along with the boiling water.

3. Add vegetable scraps, bring to a steady boil, then reduce to a simmer for 30-35 minutes. Taste to season then strain the liquid from the veg. I pop my strained stock back into the freezer in a container until I want to use it, it can be stored for a good 2 months.  Alternatively you can fill an ice cube tray and use these straight from the freezer in any meal!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

